SBI: Rajnish Kumar appointed as next SBI chairman, Arundhati Bhattacharya retires

share on:

The centre has appointed as the new chairperson of State Bank of India on Wednesday, which is considered as the largest public sector bank.

Rajnish Kumar will replace Arundhati Bhattacharya who has completed her tenure on Friday.

It was reported that the outgoing chairperson Arundhati Bhattacharya’s tenure will end on Friday.

Last year, the centre reportedly extended Arundhati Bhattacharya for a year.

Rajnish Kumar is currently working as the managing director of SBI will now hold the seat of next SBI chairman.

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has appointed the new State Bank of India chairperson as Rajnish Kumar.

Rajnish Kumar has been appointed as the period of three years which will start from October 7, as per the order directed by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT).

Mr. Rajnish Kumar said in a statement, “It is indeed an honour to be entrusted with the leadership of SBI at a time when India is best poised for growth. I look forward to serving the bank to the best of my abilities along with the support of all my colleagues spread across the globe”.

It was believed that Rajnish Kumar joined SBI as a probationary officer in 1980 and in the year May 26, 2015, Rajnish Kumar was appointed as Managing Director of the largest public sector bank.

share on: