BJP’s Yedyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM as election drama continues

share on:

Bhartiya Janta Party chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa on Thursday took oath as chief minister of Karnataka, almost two days after BJP emerged as the largest party with 104 seats.

The oath comes after a night of high drama that saw Apex court opening its doors for a post-midnight hearing.

So far only Yeddyurappa has only taken the oath saying other ministers will take the oath once the party is able to prove a majority.

BJP is still 8 seats short of the major number 112 seats to form the government while Congress and JD(s) joined hands and stake claim to power. The alliance has the support of 117 MLAs.

The Governor Vajubhai Vala invited Yeddyurappa to form the government last night, a decision Congress immediately challenged in the Supreme Court.

Interestingly, the governor is a retired BJP Politician.

Meanwhile, the Congress filed a petition against the Governor’s decision at around 10 pm and CJI Dipak Misra constituted a three-judge bench of justices SA Bobde, Ashok Bhushan, and AK Sikri to hear the petition in the late-night hearing.

The hearing began at around 2 AM and ended at around 5.30 AM. The Supreme body refused to stay Yedyurappa’s swearing-in but made clear that the government formation in Karnataka would be subject to the final outcome.

The Congress which has 78 seats formed an alliance with JDS (37 seats) after election results were declared on Tuesday. If BJP fails to form the government, JDS chief HD Kumaraswamy is likely to be the chief minister of the southern state.


Also read: BJP is offering Rs 100 crore to each JDS MLA says Kumaraswamy

share on: