Election Commission announce dates for Karnataka Assembly elections

share on:

The Election Commission of India has announced that the Karnataka Assembly elections will take place on May 12.

The polling will take place in a single phase election on May 12 while the counting will be done on May 15.

Addressing the media in a press conference on Tuesday the Chief Election Commissioner O.P. Rawat said , “From the date of announcement, Model code of conduct comes into force immediately.”

The press conference was interrupted when reporters asked the questions on how the dates were announced on social media prior to its announcement.

“Strict action” will be taken against such leaks, Rawat replied.

The election is seen crucial for both the BJP and Congress. Currently, Congress is the ruling party in the state with 122 votes against BJP’s 43. The saffron party will look to regain its status in the state after it lost power in the 2013 assembly polls.

BJP has multiplied rallies in the state.

There are a total of 224 assembly constituencies in Karnataka.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is battling anti-incumbency. He is running a strong and high-pitched election campaign.

A win in Karnataka is much-needed for the Congress Party ahead of the 2019 general elections.

The significance of the Karnataka polls is also because of the fact that it is the first between the Congress and BJP ahead of the general elections. Other states where the two parties will come face to face against each other are Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh.

The term of the current legislative assembly ends on May 28.

BJP has nominated former CM B S Yeddyurappa as the face for Chief Minister role.

The last date for filing the nominations is April 24.

share on: