Parliament Attack 16th Anniversary: Political Leaders Pay Tribute to Martyrs

share on:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, along with other political leaders and senior lawmakers paid tribute to Martyrs on the 16th anniversary of the attack on the Parliament.

The Prime Minister, earlier in the day, tweeted, “We pay homage to those who laid down their lives protecting the temple of our democracy on 13th December 2001. Their sacrifices will never be forgotten.”

Other Political leaders also took to Twitter to pay homage to those who sacrificed their lives for the nation.

The terror attack, which took place on December 13, 2001, claimed the lives of 14 people, 13 security forces, and one civilian.

The Parliament attack took place 16 years ago on December 13, 2001, and is considered to be one of the most sensational terror incidents in India. Where, Five heavily armed gunmen stormed the Parliament in New Delhi and opened indiscriminate fire, killed nine people instantly. The victims included five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) trooper, two Parliament watch and ward staff and a gardener. A journalist who was injured died later.

Afzal Guru, convicted in the Parliament attack case, was hanged on February 2013

Every year on the Parliament attack anniversary, tributes are paid to remember the brave martyrs who lost their lives and dispelled the terror attack on the Parliament.

share on: