Uttar Pradesh: Mahendra Nath Pandey appointed as new BJP chief

share on:

Union Minister Mahendra Nath Pandey is appointed as the Uttar Pradesh BJP president, replacing Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, Party said in a statement.

At present, the post of BJP chief is directed by Keshav Prasad Maurya who holds the position of Deputy CM in Yogi Adityanath led- government.

The new BJP Chief Mahendra Nath Pandey is a BJP MP from Chandauli constituency.

It was reported that the name of Mahendra Nath Pandey as a new BJP chief has come as a surprise for many in the party.

Although, the some of the names which were suggested for the post of Uttar Pradesh BJP chief include Swatantra Deo Singh, State Minister for Transport (independent charge) in UP, Jaswant Saini, state party vice-president, Mahesh Sharma and Union ministers Sanjeev Balyan, Ashok Kataria, BJP state general secretary.

It was also learned that some of the non- performing Ministers may be removed and some may be appointed as governors.

The decision to appoint the new party chief came as Maurya is expected to be elected to the Legislative Council to continue his post as a Deputy Chief Minister of UP.

Following the decision, Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya under Yogi Adityanath led- the government also congratulated the new BJP chief.

share on: