Bangladesh defeats Sri Lanka to book place in the final.

share on:

Mahmudullah scored 18 balls 43 to help his side defeat Sri Lanka by 2 wickets to reach the Nidahas Trophy tri-series final.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to field first at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Friday. Batting first the hosts posted a decent total on the board as they scored 159 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their 20 overs.

Wicket-keeper batsman Kushal Perera scored 61 runs off 40 balls that included seven boundaries and a six. Skipper, Thisara Perera contributed 58 runs off 37 deliveries with 3 fours and equal no. of sixes.

Mushatafizur Rahman scalped 2 wickets while Captain Shakib Al Hasan and Mehidy Hasan bowled economical over’s and picked one wicket each.

In reply, Bangladesh did not have the best of starts as one of their openers Liton Das was out for a duck but Tamim Iqbal stood firm to score his 50 while other middle order batsmen also chipped in. It seemed tough for Bangladesh to win the game as wickets tumbled from the other end, but Mahmudullah guided his team to win the match by 2 wickets in the second last ball of the match.

There was also a huge spat that took place in the last over. Bangladesh needed 12 runs off the last four balls and Bangladesh faced two bouncers but was not given no-ball. Following the incident, Shakib Al Hasan asked the players to leave the ground.

Shakib later admitted that he went overboard with his emotions on Friday after heated exchanges with Sri Lankan players.

Earlier, India defeated Bangladesh by 17 runs on Wednesday. The Final will take place between the same team in Colombo on Sunday

share on: