India beat Australia by 8 wickets and regain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy

share on:

India beat Australia by 8 wickets in Fourth Test Match to win the series 2-1 and reclaim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

On Day four, Murli Vijay and KL Rahul began the proceedings for India to chase down the winning target of 106-runs.

Host team took only 23.5 overs to win the four-Test series by eight wickets.

With this splendid victory, yet again proved the men in blue are the champions by continuing their legacy of good performance throughout the series except in the first match.

When it comes to Australian squad they also fought extremely hard but couldn’t manage to take the lead. Off spinner Nathan Lyon performed very well with his 8-wicket haul in  the second  test.

Indian bowler, Ravindra Jadeja became the Man of the series and the Man of the Match as he picked up 25 wickets at an average of 18.56 in the four-Test series against Australia.

The stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane said after a spectacular victory “Really happy as a captain, unfortunately Virat got injured. We decided during lunch time on Day 1 that if we take one wicket – only Smith and Warner were scoring the runs – we can put pressure. We all had confidence in Kuldeep. I felt the bowlers from the other end also maintained the pressure.”

Indian skipper Virat Kohli expressed his happiness by describing the victory as the bestest series win. He said “Unbelievable feeling. I think this was the best series win we have had so far. The way the guys handled situations and the way Ajinkya captained was amazing. The changes made to out fitness regime has paid off I guess.”

share on: