India Is All set for Nidahas Trophy After Winning T20 Series

share on:

Team India defeated South Africa in a close encounter to win the series 2-1 on Saturday.

India won the third t20 international by 7 runs in the final over that took place at Newlands in Cape Town. South Africa won the toss and chose to bat first as India scored 172 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their 20 overs. Suresh Raina contributed 43 runs off just 27 deliveries that included five boundaries and a six. He also won Man of the Award. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was awarded man of the series for his consistent performance.

Rohit Sharma was leading the squad in the absence of the skipper Virat Kohli who was rested. SA skipper, JP Duminy continued his good form but couldn’t take South Africa towards the victory line. SA managed 165 runs and went on to lose the match by 7 runs. It also meant that India remains unbeaten in limited-over T20I series since last year.

Kohli and Dhoni Rested

Rohit Sharma will continue to lead the side as team India rested Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni in the upcoming Nidahas Trophy. India has brought Washington Sundar and Deepak Hooda as new faces as replacement in the squad. The series is bound to take place in Sri Lanka from March 6. Bangladesh will feature as the third team in the tri-series that will take place in T20 format.

Opportunity to become no.1

India currently ranks third in T20Is ICC rankings. They have a good possibility to become No.1 across all formats of the game if they do well in the Nidahas trophy.


share on: