IPL: KKR defeats RR by 7 wickets

share on:

The 15th match of the Indian Premier League took place at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Wednesday where Kolkata Knight emerged victorious by defeating Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and opted to field first. Batting first, Rajasthan Royals started off well as the openers Ajinkya Rahane and D Arcy Short scored 36 and 44 respectively. The middle order wasn’t that fruitful as the team could only manage 160 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in their 20 overs.

Samson who scored 92 runs in the previous game got out for just 7 runs. He looked to play the short-arm pull but didn’t make a clean contact. The ball went toward deep square leg where Kuldeep Yadav completed the catch off Shivam Mavi. Nitish Rana and Tom Curran shared two wickets each.

While defending the target, RR got rid of the dangerous Chris Lynn in the very first over but Sunil Narine and Robin Uthappa then took over as they scored 35 runs and 48 runs. Nitish Rana’s unbeaten 35 and Dinesh Karthik’s quickfire 42 not out off just 23 balls did rest of the job as the team chased down the total in 19th over. Krishnappa Gowtham picked up 2 wickets for the Royals.

The win takes KKR to the top of the table with 3 wins in first 5 matches.

In today’s game, Kings XI Punjab will play Sunrisers Hyderabad who has won their first all three game while KXIP is yet to lose a game at home. The match will take place at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali.

Also Read: KKR Demolished DD By 71 Runs

share on: