KXIP defeats DD by 4 runs, moves top of the table

share on:

The 22nd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) took place between Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium, Delhi.

DD won the toss and opted to field first. Batting first, Kings XI Punjab continued a slow-paced inning throughout the match. Karun Nair scored 34 runs while Lokesh Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, and David Miller chipped in with their 20s. DD restricted KXIP to 143 runs for the loss of eight wickets in their 20 overs. Chris Gayle did not feature in the game.

Liam Plunkett picked three wickets while Trent Boult and Avesh Khan shared two wickets each.

In reply, Delhi had the same sort of start as KXIP but Shreyas Iyer kept the game going by scoring 57 runs off 45 balls. The match eventually went to a close when 4 runs were required off the last ball but Iyer couldn’t middle it and got caught to Finch at the long-off. As a result, DD lost the game. Prithvi who made his début for DD last night scored 22 runs while Rahul Tewatia managed 24.

Ankit Rajpoot, Andrew Tye, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman picked two wickets each.

Ankit Rajpoot was adjudged Man of the Match.

Kings XI Punjab now has moved to the top of the table with 5 wins in first 6 games while Delhi Daredevils are now at the bottom of the league table with 5 losses in six games.

In today’s match, Mumbai Indians will play against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Both the teams have lost their lost their previous game.

Also Read: These are top anchors of IPL 2018

share on: