Manchester City defeats Arsenal to win League Cup.

share on:
Manhester City League Cup winners

Pep Guardiola’s side Manchester City defeated Arsenal 3-0 to win League Cup Final at Wembley Stadium on Sunday. Man City lifted the title for the fifth time as Sergio Aguero, David Silva and Vicent Kompany were all found in the score-sheet.

Aguero started the scoring in the 18th minute of the first half. Captain Kompany doubled the lead in the second half with more than 30 minutes left. David Silva ensured the ball is kept out of reach for Wenger’s men. He scored the third and final goal in the 65th minute. It left a mountain to climb for the Wenger’s men.

Wembley has become a second home for City who enjoyed a major share of possession in a cold clear day in the city of London.

Pep Guardiola said, “It’s important. We’re so happy, and a big congratulations to of all Manchester City, and our fans. This trophy is for Manchester City and not for me. The first half we were not good, there were a lot of mistakes. In the second half we played with a lot more courage and personality — we were outstanding.”

He was also involved in a lot of praise for his goal-keeper Claudio Bravo who has performed very well throughout the competition.

Arsenal had their chances in the first phase. New signing Pierre Emerick Aubameyang hit a shot towards goal in the first ten minutes but the goalkeeper Claudio Bravo stopped the goal.

Arsene Wenger is yet to win a League Cup title as manager. He was disappointed with the loss.

Speaking to the media, he said,” I felt the game, we had the first good chance, a very easy one that we missed. After that, we made a big mistake for their first goal. But we controlled them pretty well in the first half, but they came out in the second half, and we were unlucky because the second goal was offside. But congratulations to Man City, they deserve the win.”

share on: