Nidahas Trophy: India defeats Sri Lanka by six wickets

share on:

Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik put on a match-winning knock as India defeat Sri Lanka in their second meet of the Nidahas Trophy.

Rain affected the match before the start of play. The delay cut off one over from each side. India won the toss and opted to bowl at the R Premadasa Stadium. Bowling first, India restricted Sri Lanka to a score of 152 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Shardul Thakur picked four wickets by just giving away 27 runs in his quota of four overs. Washington Sundar also scalped two wickets. From Sri Lanka, Kushal Mendis scored 55 runs to help his side post a decent total on the scoreboard.

SL were involved in a batting collapse that saw the hosts reduce from 96-3 in the 11th over to 151-9 at the end of their innings in the last over.

In reply, India did not have a very good start as the openers fell early to the mystery spinner Akila Dhananjaya.  Lokesh Rahul did not make the most of his chances and got out hit wicket in the 10th over off Jeevan Mendis, by doing so he became the 10th Indian batsman to get hit wicket out. But Manish Pandey (42) and Dinesh Karthik (39) played unbeaten knock to take India through the victory line with 9 balls to spare. Suresh Raina also contributed 27runs.

The current Indian skipper Rohit Sharma must be a happy man, India have climbed up to the top spot in the standings table after two wins in first three matches.

share on: