Warner steps down as Sunrisers Captain

share on:

David Warner has stepped down as the captain of his IPL franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad ahead of the season’s start following his involvement in ball tampering case against South Africa during the third test.

Shanmugam, CEO of Sunrisers Hyderabad said, “In light of recent events, David Warner has stepped down as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. The new captain of the Team will be announced shortly.”

It will be interesting to see whom SRH chooses to captain their side. SRH won the league in 2016 under the captaincy of David Warner.

However, SRH player Wriddhiman Saha is of other views. He believes they have a strong squad. “Our team is strong enough to replace Warner,” Saha told reporters at the Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club.

SRH mentor VVS Laxman had made it clear that they would wait for Cricket Australia’s decision.  

Moreover, the electronic goods company LG told that they will not renew its contract with Warner. He was appointed the company’s brand ambassador in 2014.

Earlier, Steve Smith stepped down as the skipper of Rajasthan Royals. Ajinkya Rahane will lead the team.

The Australian players Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft were punished by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and will not feature in the fourth and final test. Tim Paine will lead the side in Smith and Warner absence.

Moreover, a recent investigation by Cricket Australia found that the original plan was of Bancroft and Warner to whom Smith agreed.

The trio could face one year ban from all forms of cricket. However, Coach Darren Lehmann escaped any charges. Back at home, they are heavily criticized by the Australian media.

share on: