Sher Bahadur Deuba sworn in as Nepal’s Prime Minister

share on:
Sher Bahadur Deuba

Sher Bahadur Deuba has been sworn in as the next Prime Minister of Nepal after Pushpa Kamal Dahal also known as Prachanda announced his resignation on 24 May 2017 during an address to the nation in Kathmandu.

President of the Nepali Congress party Sher Bahadur Deuba was the sole candidate to run for the election of prime minister, the Parliament Secretariat said on Saturday.

As the deadline expired on Saturday, Deuba was the sole candidate to file his nomination.

Voting is only a convention. We as of now comfortable majority,” said outgoing Deputy PM and Minister for Home Affairs Bimalendra Nidhi after Deuba filed his candidacy at around 11:30am.

This is Sher Bahadur Deuba fourth stint as the Prime Minister of Nepal. He served as Prime Minister from 1995 to 1997, from 2001 to 2002, and from 2004 to 2005.

share on: